Wisdom and Shrimp Creole

Coming to you today from the campus of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary.  I’m down here for a two day class, and I look forward to being back with you for our leadership meeting Wednesday night.  I drove down last night after church (celebrating the Lord’s Supper together was worth sticking around for!), and crashed when I got here for a few hours.  I’m up now sitting in an on campus coffee shop. Just so you know, coffee shops in New Orleans serve great shrimp creole.  Didn’t see that coming, (I should have) but it was a pleasant surprise. Ha!

I had forgotteshrimp creolen how amusing the conversations you hear on seminary campuses can be.  I am currently sitting beside two groups of people who are talking loudly enough for me to hear their conversation without trying.  On one side, there is a group of students debating their differing eschatalogical perspectives (ideas about end times) as if their very lives depended on being right.  On the other side, there is a professor talking with an education student about the principles of a healthy Sunday School.  I am more interested in the latter conversation.

I’ve really only heard one comment that the professor made, but it touched my heart and I wanted to share it with you.  He said that there are a million Sunday School strategies out there (and there are), but they all really boil down to one thing.  He said the one thing is to faithfully live out the Great Commandments through Sunday School.  I would add that The Great Commission (Jesus’ call for us to go and make disciples) is equally important, but I understood his point.  First, we must love God passionately, and second we must love people as much as we love our very selves.

If we are faithful in these two things, we will get everything else right too.

If we love God we will teach His word faithfully.

If we love people we will reach out to new families and want to grow.

If we love people we will organize ourselves to serve.

If we love God, we will love people and be committed to keeping them connected.

It really is that simple.  Love God, Love people, and make disciples.

If that sounds familiar, it should.  Those are the principles reflected in our church purpose phrase: Worshiping God, Strengthening Families, Changing Lives.

I am thankful for each one of you, and I look forward to seeing you this week!

Disclaimer: WordPress sells ads that may appear below this article. If you see a video ad, it has nothing to do with the content of this site for PSBC Sunday School leaders. I have no control over the content. Probably best to ignore them. Thanks!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wisdom and Shrimp Creole

  1. Karen Neal

    This is good. I, too, have always felt that if we loved God, then others, asvwe should, then many issues could be solved more readily. Note change of email address too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

